Karnataka Election Date – Nomination | Polling Date | Result Date

Karnataka Election Date – May 12 2018
Karnataka Election Results – May 15 2018

Karnataka Election DateKarnataka Election Date is announced by the Election Commission at the press conference held just now. Voting for the Assembly elections will be held on the 12th of May, and the results will be out on the 15th of May. The term of the current 224-member legislative Assembly ends on May 28.

Last Date to File Nomination25-04-2018
Scrutiny of Nominations25-04-2018
Withdrawl of Nominations27-04-2018
Polling Date12-05-2018
Counting of Votes15-05-2018
Total No. Of ACsReserved for SCsReserved for STs
Total No. Of VotersTotal No. of BoothsTotal No. of Polling Booths

The announcement was made by Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat. With this announcement, the model code of conduct comes into immediate effect. He further said that there would be EVMs and VVPATs at all polling centers. Further, there would be no loudspeakers especially near hospitals and educational institutions. Rawat also said that voters belonging to the weaker sections should be given full protection to ensure a free and fair election.

The Karnataka Elections 2018 are being seen politically crucial for the ruling Congress, as well as the BJP, as Karnataka is the only big state where the former is in power after losing a string of Assembly elections to the saffron party in the past few years. The BJP is making a concerted bid to unseat the Congress.Besides, the Congress and the BJP, another player in the fray is former prime minister H D Deve Gowda’s JD(S).

Highlights of the Election Commission press conference:

  • Special arrangements will be made for women in all 450 polling stations. These polling stations will be managed fully by women: Election Commission
  • Model Code of Conduct:
  • Model Code of Conduct for the elections will come into effect immediately.
  • The eco-friendly material should be used for all propaganda exercise.
  • Use of loudspeakers will be regulated so that people can sleep at night. Loudspeakers won’t be allowed from 10 pm to 6 am, says CEC Om Prakash Rawat.
  • Commission has decided to deploy CRPF to ensure people refrain from indulging in violent activities: CEC
  • VVPAT will be there for all EVMs in this election: CEC Om Prakash Rawat
  • Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said that the total number of electorate in Karnataka is 4.96 crores.
  • “Total number of polling stations in the state is 56,696 which is an increase of 9 percent from last Assembly elections,” Rawat said.*
  • The EC has now promised “accessible polls” in Karnataka. A voter guide will be given to each household, the Election Commission has said.

The entire press release by the election commission can be found here.

Also Read  Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 Candidates List | 224 Constituencies

Make sure you bookmark Karnataka Election site to get latest updates on Karnataka Election 2018.

Karnataka Election 2018
Karnataka, Nearest Polling Booth,
Starting on
May 12, 2018
Ending on
May 15, 2018
Karnataka Election Date - May 12th 2018. The Karnataka Assembly elections will be held in May 2018 to choose representatives for 224 constituencies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here